Total beginner to programming & Scala, what would you suggest to get them started?

A recent Twitter poll by @scala_lang (https://twitter.com/scala_lang/status/826072310436204546) led to some interesting discussion about how to best serve Scala beginners. As suggested by @heathermiller, moving the discussion here.

Here’s my two cents: Simply download Scala and play around in the REPL. Setup is easy. In the REPL feedback is immediate, it’s more conducive to experimentation. There’s no concern about how best to organize code or worry about resolving SBT/dealing with network issues/etc. Pair this with a decent interactive tutorial (like scala-exercises.org) and I think that’d be a good first step for a newbie.

I went back and forth about SBT but it seems cruel and unusual to add any more concepts than simply run and evaluate scala code. SBT is a natural next step though.

2 Likes

First of all : https://www.manning.com/books/functional-programming-in-scala . I’m reading it ATM and it’s really good.
Then I’m following Coursera’s https://www.coursera.org/specializations/scala and I have to admit Odersky’s courses are really nice to attend :slight_smile: (by the way the courses themselves are free, you just need to pay if you want Coursera to stamp your LinkedIn account once you’ve completed the assignments).

2 Likes

Also one of the simplest ways to start Scala is ScalaFiddle https://scalafiddle.io/
You don’t need anything to download or install. It’s so very convenient :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I think you should give beginners a foundation they can build on, which means real tools, which means a text editor and sbt-extras. The “sbt is too hard” argument is valid but the solution is to make sbt easier, not to coddle beginners and leave them stranded in an environment nobody actually uses for writing Scala programs. I wrote a grumpy blog post some time ago with my thoughts in more detail.

1 Like