Scala Symposium 2018 (28 Sep, St. Louis) – Call for Papers

Scala Symposium 2018

28 September 2018, co-located with ICFP 2018 in St. Louis, Missouri, USA.


The Scala Symposium is the leading forum for researchers and practitioners related to the Scala programming language. We welcome a broad spectrum of research topics and support many submission formats for industry and academia alike.

This year’s Scala Symposium is co-located with ICFP 2018 in St. Louis, Missouri.

Important dates

  • Paper submission deadline extended to: June 13th, 2018
  • Paper notification: July 13th, 2018
  • Student talk submission: Aug 10th, 2018
  • Camera ready: Aug 3rd, 2018
  • Student talk notification: Aug 31st, 2018

All deadlines are “Anywhere on Earth” (AoE).

Submission Format

To accommodate the needs of researchers and practitioners, as well as beginners and experts alike, we seek several kinds of submissions, all in acmart/sigplan style, 10pt font.

  • Full papers (at most 10 pages, excluding bibliography)
  • Short papers (at most 4 pages, excluding bibliography)
  • Tool papers (at most 4 pages, excluding bibliography)
  • Student talks (short abstract only, in plain text)

Accepted papers (either full papers, short ones or tool papers, but not student talks) will be published in the ACM Digital Library.

For full details and the latest updates on deadlines, submission formats, etc. see the call for papers on the Scala ‘18 website and follow @scala_symposium on Twitter!

Program Committee

  • Nada Amin, University of Cambridge
  • Jonathan Immanuel Brachthäuser, University of Tübingen
  • Franck Cassez, Macquarie University
  • Atsushi Igarashi, Kyoto University
  • Ravichandhran Kandhadai Madhavan, EPFL
  • Heather Miller, EPFL
  • Adriaan Moors, Lightbend
  • Klaus Ostermann, University of Tuebingen
  • Aleksandar Prokopec, Oracle Labs
  • Sukyoung Ryu, KAIST
  • Marco Servetto, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Philippe Suter, Two Sigma
  • Ross Tate, Cornell University
  • Mirko Viroli, University of Bologna
  • Damien Zufferey, MPI-SWS
  • Tijs van der Storm, CWI / University of Groningen

Organizing Committee

  • Sebastian Erdweg (General Chair), TU Delft
  • Bruno C. d. S. Oliveira (PC Chair), University of Hong Kong
  • Jonathan Immanuel Brachthäuser (Sponsorship Chair), University of Tübingen


Deadline extension: Due to popular request the submission deadline for Scala’18 is now 13th of June!