Pre-SIP: cosmetic enhancements

Scala allows certain customizations, and I would like to propose a few that I would like to see as standard in Predef. These are purely cosmetic, but I have been using them for many years, and I think they would make the language more elegant.

type Real = Double // better name for Double
type Bool = Boolean // shorter name for Boolean
type Text = String // better name for String

def not(b: Bool) = ! b // clearer form of not!

The name “Double” has always bothered me. Double what? Double dip? Double trouble? It is an historical anachronism from back when a 64-bit number was a “double” on a 32-bit CPU. For all but small embedded systems, that hasn’t been the case for many years.

Beyond that, floating-point numbers are intended to represent real numbers, and they do an excellent job of it for most practical purposes, so why not name them for what they are intended to represent?

As for “Bool”, it is just a shorthand for “Boolean”, just as “Int” is short for “Integer”.

The name “String” also bothers me. String of what? String of pearls? Why not just call it what it is, namely “Text”? As far as I can tell, that is the perfect name for it – and shorter too. Yes, “String” has a long history in programming, but it is still a poor name as far as I am concerned. Isn’t good naming an essential part of programming?

As for “not”, I think it is a clearer alternative to “!”. And the fact that it requires parentheses makes it clearer what it applies to. It’s a win-win as far as I am concerned, although “!” is still great for succinctness. I use the latter only when I am trying to avoid a line wrap.

2 Likes

Since it’s a matter of personal taste, and can be easily solved by creating your own aliases, I don’t think there is merit in changing the language for it.

9 Likes