Improving the compilation error reporting of sbt

Hi all!

My name is Martin Duhem, and I’m a software engineer working at the Scala Center since March 2017. These last months, I’ve been working on Scala Native, and I am starting to get involved (again) in sbt’s development. My next step will be focusing on usability improvements for sbt.

The first thing that I want to improve is the reporting of compilation errors inside sbt. Currently, I feel like the interesting bits of information coming from the errors are not sufficiently highlighted, and that a lot of time is wasted seeking those bits in the verbose error messages.

This is what error messages currently look like:

> compile
[info] Compiling 2 Scala sources to /Users/martin/Documents/Projects.nosync/Duhemm/sbt-errors-summary/target/scala-2.10/sbt-0.13/classes...
[warn] /Users/martin/Documents/Projects.nosync/Duhemm/sbt-errors-summary/src/main/scala/sbt/errorssummary/ConciseReporter.scala:22: @deprecated now takes two arguments; see the scaladoc.
[warn]   @deprecated def oldStuff: Int = 2
[warn]    ^
[error] /Users/martin/Documents/Projects.nosync/Duhemm/sbt-errors-summary/src/main/scala/sbt/errorssummary/ConciseReporter.scala:32: type mismatch;
[error]  found   : Unit
[error]  required: Int
[error]   override def bar(): Int = println("Hello")
[error]                                    ^
[error] /Users/martin/Documents/Projects.nosync/Duhemm/sbt-errors-summary/src/main/scala/sbt/errorssummary/Plugin.scala:19: not found: value oops
[error]       oops
[error]       ^
[warn] /Users/martin/Documents/Projects.nosync/Duhemm/sbt-errors-summary/src/main/scala/sbt/errorssummary/Plugin.scala:11: implicit conversion method any2Unit should be enabled
[warn] by making the implicit value scala.language.implicitConversions visible.
[warn] This can be achieved by adding the import clause 'import scala.language.implicitConversions'
[warn] or by setting the compiler option -language:implicitConversions.