Google Summer of Code - time to act

Dear Contributors,

It’s official - we are accepted to Google Summer of Code!

Please help us spread the word and get students world-wide to apply in the next 19 days!

Main links to share:

Thank you all!!

7 Likes

@tanishiking thank you for your interest earlier, it’s now time to apply :star_struck:

1 Like

Hi @darja ,
My name is Mykola Medynskyi, I’m a 3rd year student, studying Software Engineering at the Kyiv National Ukrainian university. I’d like to contribute to Scala and I am interested in the project “Implement support for some scientific computing libraries in Scala 3”.

Last year I made a contribution to DBpedia Extraction Framework in Scala during Google Summer of Code. Starting from February 2021, I have become a part-time contributor at DBpedia. Now I am upgrading the testing system of Extraction Framework there. So, I have hands-on experience with Scala.

I have a strong algorithmic background (solved ~200 tasks on leetcode). Also, I’m having a compilers course at the university right now, so I’m a little bit familiar with this topic.

My github: jlareck · GitHub
My leetcode: https://leetcode.com/jlareck/

Could you please coordinate me regarding the next steps? Do you have any warmup tasks?

2 Likes

Hi @jlareck thanks a lot for your interest and all the details!

I’ve already pinged our mentor team, they will reach out to you soon.

Hello
Also intersted in participating in GSoC this year. Third year student studying computer science in the University of Bergen, Norway.

The projects I’m the most interested in are “scalajs-jfe”, “Port shapeless-2.x to Scala 3”, “Improve the Scaladex UX and UI”, " Runnable and embeddable snippets for Scala 3". A lot, but not quite sure which I’m the most interested in yet.