Deriving `CanEqual` succeeds on case class with non-`CanEqual` member. Why?

I’m relatively new with Scala. I’m not sure if this question should have gone in the general forum, but it seemed language lawyery so I put it here.

I’m not sure why the following code compiles:

import scala.language.strictEquality

case class C(x: String => String) derives CanEqual

Shouldn’t this fail because CanEqual is not defined on String => String and hence can’t be derived? It would seem to me that the most obvious way to implement the deriving clause was to apply it recursively to the sub elements. I’m guessing this is how things like Ord work also. But it seems here maybe it’s just using the Java’s .Equals() method, which is meaningless on functions. Why not implement CanEqual so it just recursively applies CanEqual and fails if the sub elements don’t have the required CanEqual trait? If this is falling back to .Equals(), when is this actually a good idea given that the whole point of the CanEqual class (as far as I understand) is to be explicit about defining equality, in contrast to the Java approach of just giving everything equality, even types where it doesn’t make sense?

Hey, thank you for your question. I have taken a look in the compiler source code and here is where derivation for CanEqual is implemented:

it seems that for a class with no type parameters CanEqual is given for free, and if there are type parameters, then a CanEqual instance is also required for each type parameter in order to provide CanEqual for a concrete instantiation of the class.

So to answer the question, you can derive CanEqual for C here because term parameters are not considered.

However, looking at the docs on desugaring it is clear that the motivation does involve proving that parameters of generic types can be compared.

So is this behaviour intended or is it a bug or do we not know?