As a Scala programmer, I often use this following pattern:

extension [A](a: A)
  def tap: A = {
    println(a); a
  }

def tap(f: A => Unit): A = {
    f(a); a
  }

It’s very useful for debugging, especially with long chains of operations such as:

getResults
.groupBy(...)
.filter(...)
.map(...)
.foreach(...)

Being able to simply insert a .tap into a chain of operations is very quick and clean

getResults
.groupBy(...)
.filter(...)
.tap
.map(...)
.foreach(...)

as opposed to having to assign part of the expression to a val, like so:

val part1 = getResults
.groupBy(...)
.filter(...)

println(part1)

part1
.map(...)
.foreach(...)

Basically it allows you to see the value of any expression in your program at any point, without having to do a lot of refactoring.

I find myself having to redefine this for each new project but also since it’s for debugging I don’t necessarily want to commit it either; maybe the standard library is the right place? I think many others use this pattern also.

And you might also say, “Shouldn’t you be using a debugger anyway?”, but in a debugger you can’t see the result of part of an expression, only the whole expression, so .tap works very nicely in those situations, which in Scala, happen quite often.

1 Like

This feels like something that can become a small library with zero dependencies, if this feature doesn’t exist in one the existing logging libraries.
I think it’s better in a library because I can think of several features (positioning, argument name via reflection, etc.) that people may want to have and something that can be easily evolved, unlike the Scala standard library.

5 Likes

Presumably, it will be inline eventually. For those stuck on Scala 2, don’t neglect -opt.

➜  ~ scala -J--enable-preview '-opt:inline:**' -J--add-exports -Jjdk.jdeps/com.sun.tools.javap=ALL-UNNAMED -nobootcp
Welcome to Scala 2.13.13 (OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM, Java 21.0.2).
Type in expressions for evaluation. Or try :help.