Enforcing immutability

I wonder if it would be possible to have a mechanism (either in scala or in dotty) that will enforce/guarantee immutability of data structures and/or functions?

I’m no compiler expert but it could be something like a new keyword or implicit argument required for doing reassignments. From what I understand on the lowest level reassignment is the only way to mutate something, so this should be enough.

I can recall that C++ has some pretty sophisticated const semantics similar to this, but I remember as well that it was pretty cumbersome to use it (I have not used C++ for more than a few years now, so don’t know whats the current status).

Not quite. Assuming a fully “const correct” (to borrow C++ parlance) Scala ecosystem, you could still call functions from Java, unless you treat everything unknown as “not const”. I’d assume that to be very painful, though.

1 Like

As you said, I would assume everything unknown as mutable, but this shouldn’t be that painful. It only matters if you pass to the java method call a mutable object or you inherit from java trait and have mutable internals. If you pass something immutable to inpure code it cannot do any harm, and most of the code in Scala is rather immutable by default.

So, I think this is an interesting idea, but it gets complex fast.

Consider these two different kinds of mutation that might occur in your program:

var x: Map[Int, Int] = Map.empty
x.updated(2, 3) // we've mutated the variable m.
// however, the previous and current *values* are both immutable.

import java.util.HashMap
val y: HashMap[Int, Int] = new HashMap
y.put(2, 3) // we've mutable the object y references.
// y is an immutable reference to a mutable object.

You’re quite correct that forbidding the first type of mutation is relatively straightforward: forbid var. However, the second type of mutation (nested mutation coming from an inner object) is more difficult to detect and prevent.

Furthermore, consider the following: