Do we need Scala 3?

We certainly want Dotty. I presume that goes without saying, so I’ll just take that as read. But does this mean we want Scala 3.

I think the idea of Scala 3 has been very useful, to think how would we do things if we were starting again from scratch. What is good and what is bad about current Scala. What is essential and what is superfluous. What features could be replaced by a much more general feature. How could the language be simplified. The slogan of this approach is:

"If you’re going to break it, break it good."

I’m not an expert on Python, but my understanding is that this was the philosophy of Python 3. Break everything in one painful but short, sharp break. Get all the pain over in one go. But as time has gone on the Scala contributors seem to have shied away from this approach. More and more they seek to minimise the changes that the language user will experience, an epic language change, that won’t really be a big change at all. This seems very much in tune with the way that software infrastructure is going. For the Linux Kernel the numbering change from 2.6.39 to 3.0, and from 3.19 to 4.0, involved no meaningful technical differentiation. Systemd is now on version 239. Java is moving away from epic language changes to regular, predictable, incremental versioning.

There seems to be almost universal agreement that we want to get rid of XML literals. This is a language simplification that almost all Scala users can sign up to. I don’t use them, but as XML literals were already in Dotty, I suggested delaying their removal till 3.1, rather than trying to take on too many tasks at once. But it also became apparent that there was no migration path for XML literals. It became apparent that this simplification was going to make some peoples lives a lot more complicated. Maybe we need to beware of premature simplification. Simplification is often not a simple task. The alternative to “Break it good” is:

"No one left behind!"